Certified 18th February, 1868 for 150 boys. Re-certified 9th June, 1914 for 166 boys.
A private house with many outhouses and additions set in 45 acres of land. Gas was made on the premises.
In 1933 it became Shawbury Approved School (Senior) for 145 boys.
PRO Records HO45/9524/31776 period 1868-1895
1868 - Superintendent Mr Vinall, previously schoolmaster at the Gem Street School.
1869 - Superintendent Mr Vinall.
1872 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Vinall; schoolmaster Mr Cook.
1884 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Vinall; schoolmaster Mr Oakes; assistant schoolmaster Mr Davies.
1891 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs F. Horth; schoolmasters Mr McColl and Mr Jones.
1893 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs F. Horth; assistant matron Miss Adderton; schoolmaster Mr W.C. Jones; assistant Mr Bolton.
1900 - Superintendent and matron, Mr & Mrs W. Craven Jones were appointed 26th July 1899 in succession to Mr & Mrs F.G. Horth; schoolmaster Mr H. Bolton; assistant schoolmaster Mr Ashcroft. Mr John Henry Wales was appointed 2nd assistant schoolmaster 16th December 1899 to succeed Mr H.P. Smith who left 17th July 1899. Miss Louisa Brown was appointed on 16th December 1899.
1903 - Superintendent and matron, Mr & Mrs W. Craven Jones; assistant matron Miss Brown. Mr H. Bolton has been appointed assistant superintendent, and Mr W.F. James was appointed head schoolmaster on 24th May 1902. Mr H.J. Blayney succeeded Mr Wales 21st July 1902.